Catching up on forty years. 1986: Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others – The Smiths

the smiths

The Queen Is Dead is probably the best album ever made and on that very short list to join me on a desert island. And for that reason there has to be only one place to go in search of a song.

But unlike so many albums before or since there is no one stand-out track. Maybe the more obvious singles The Boy with the Thorn in his Side or Bigmouth Strikes Again?  But most would argue There is a Light that Never Goes Out or I Know It’s Over (and that includes me) are so much better. But frankly mr shankly there’s no point in dwelling on it too much –  the list goes on…it is one long line of splendour. Which is why I’ve gone for Some Girls… as the lyrics are near on pointless and Johnny Marr’s guitar hook is irresistible.

It is, to quote P, just ‘weird’ and ‘what’s the point?’  But, I suppose that sums up The Smiths at their best – pointless in a knowing sort of way. For a few years I was a fan of a group like I’d never been before, buying albums on date of release, 12″ singles, seeking out the obscure ‘B’ sides…

So here’s 1986’s finest moment, or one of them at least.  I’m afraid no exciting video for this one, as The Smiths didn’t do that sort of thing.

It is at this point that I converge again with  Joanne Milne’s original list of songs for a second time, and feel very proud to do so.

Outside my university world (for that’s where I am now), somebody sort of invents email, the 386 processor is first rolled out from Intel and the British and French start talking about building a tunnel between them.  And take a long while to get round to building it…

And lest we think this year was a pure musical feast, remember this is also the year of Chris de Burgh’s Lady in Red.

