Catching up on forty years. 1979: Breakfast in America – Supertramp

BinA

Two albums struggle for my attention to take on the desert island, and I still remain unsure which I would ultimately take.  For many years, Supertramp’s Breakfast in America was the one!  The other will become apparent in a few years…

Purest of the pure sounds, the 1979 classic has followed me across all formats.  Originally a C60 cassette recorded by a friend, I of course went on to the buy the vinyl album.  When that wore out, the CD.  More recently, it’s also taken pride of place on a Spotify playlist.

Two tracks from the album have already appeared on previous no81bob excursions – Oh Lord, Is It Mine?  and the title track.  On the basis of popularity alone, I’ll opt for Breakfast in America itself to represent the year.

1979 has a fair cornucopia of songs so if it weren’t for B in A then any of these would be at the front of the line

A very very close second Blondie’s Heart of Glass (although I never decorated my bedroom in black and white parallel lines, I may have visited a few of these homages that year!)

The Boomtown Rats I Don’t Like Mondays

Ian and the Blockheads Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick

and of course anything from Pink Floyd’s The Wall. “We don’t need no education” was an obvious anthem for any schoolboy at the time…

Gary Numan, Squeeze, The Jam, The Police…this was a rich year…

