Catching up on forty years. 1977: Go Your Own Way – Fleetwood Mac

Rumours

My friend Matthew had a big brother.

And he played the type of music that big brothers played in the seventies.  Pink Floyd.  Led Zeppelin.  David Bowie.  The Eagles.  And, of course Fleetwood Mac.

This was nearly grown-up music.  My mum and dad’s friends liked Fleetwood Mac so I could almost be an equal.  Give me a few years, and I’d be appalled that I had the same music tastes as them, but for now almost an equal was good enough.

There was a record shop in the local town that had that iconic front cover as a big cardboard stand as you went down the stairs in to their basement.  How I wanted that stand!  They looked so elegant.  She looked so beautiful.  But I never plucked up the courage to ask for it, and I don’t know how I would ever have got it back home.

Rumours was probably the first album that I sat with a friend and we’d listen and dissect it.  That and Hotel California.  Maybe we weren’t too adventurous yet, it would take time to move on to other areas of his big brother’s collection.

My fave track of Rumours is Go Your Own Way, not so much for the lyrics but for one of the best bits of drum thumping you’ll ever hear.  Remember, a pre-teen boy won’t give a hoot about all this lovey-dovey stuff but some decent drumming and air guitar and the song is his. And if you don’t believe me see how Mick Fleetwood is still thumping those drums even twenty years later!!

Overall 1977 promised so much more culturally than it’s predecessor – we discovered Star Wars, crammed in my mum’s mini we drove down to Brighton which was showing it a few weeks ahead of ‘rural Kent’ and we spent that summer doing the C3PO walk and scuttling around making beeping noises.  My friend even got a nose bleed while watching it!  Oh, and The Spy Who Loved Me.  We all wanted a Lotus Espirit.

