Catching up on forty years. 1973: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road – Elton John

EltonJohn-70s

Starting a few days late due to illness, let’s recap on what no81bob’s world is about to embark on…

This forty year journey is inspired by the story of Joanne Milne, whose moments of first hearing were captured on video and went viral on the internet last week – Living with…no music…for forty years.  Her friend, Tremayne Crossley, created a compilation of 40 songs, one from each year of her life, as the first music she would hear.  I hope you will join me in discovering which songs you would choose if you had to describe the last forty years in music.

We start with 1973.

The UK is clearly not punching above it’s weight as the three-day week comes in to effect and our cultural contribution to television is Are You Being Served?  We do something minor like join the European Common Market, something we’ve obviously never questioned as a country since.

As a 9 year old my music is picked up mainly from Radio One, these are the days of Tony Blackburn, which my brother and I would play continuously through the summer holidays while playing at cars (of the to sort) in our garage.  There’s obviously ABBA emerging, Pink Floyd probably released one of the greatest albums of all time, Dark Side of the Moon, but I wouldn’t notice that for another eight years at least.  So my choice has to be a song that I loved at the time, even if I didn’t hear the album for another few years.  Goodbye Yellow Brick Road by Elton John.  The combination of piano, strings and his voice is as good an introduction to music as I can think, and is equally uplifting and puzzling at the same time!  After all he is a national institution so, let’s start with Elton.

Also rans:

Never in the chase:

Read more about my week with Elton and the incredible artwork of Goodbye Yellow Brick Road here.  Living with…Elton John…for a week.

