Day 23 – A song that you want to play at your Wedding: Marry You by Bruno Mars

with thanks to flickr.com/photos/srrf/

This is the moment when you wonder whether whoever compiled this song challenge was a teenager!

As my wedding has come and gone, it makes sense to refer back… And embarrassingly I can’t recall a particular song that we requested! I think we danced to some Fred Astaire number, but I should hasten to add moved nothing like Fred and Ginger.

And in hindsight it was probably wise I wasn’t allowed to choose a song – The Joshua Tree was my fave at the time so With or Without You and I still haven’t found what I’m looking for aren’t really what the occasion calls for. Nor would Girlfriend in a Coma have summoned up the right mood.

If, hypothetically I was to marry again today, then I guess it would have to be Marry You by Bruno Mars. This doesn’t state that we need to choose the slow embarrassing song.  So nothing deep there, the song just does exactly what it says on the tin. It’s sentimental but not sloppy and you can just get up and dance. So no to that slow embarrassing dance.

Ever the guardian of culture the Brighton and Hove Albion forum, North Stand Chat, posed this same question a few weeks ago. The usual suspects were there: the theme to Beauty and the Beast, Unforgettable, Let’s Stay Together, Chasing Cars  etc etc

But also some, how shall we say, more unusual candidates: Smack my Bitch Up by Prodigy, Morecambe and Wise’s Bring Me Sunshine or even the new craze Gangnam Style.

All to their own taste.

