Day 15 – A song that describes you: With a little help from my friends by The Beatles

with thanks to flickr.com/photos/__olga__/

So far no Beatles.

Not until Day 15 do the Fab Four make an appearance. And what better than the much-loved refrain between Ringo and the other three from Sergeant Peppers.

So how does it describe me? It’s all about gettng by, in fact doing more than getting by. Oh, and my singing’s not too hot.

What would you do if I sang out of tune,
Would you stand up and walk out on me?
Lend me your ears and I’ll sing you a song.
And I’ll try not to sing out of key.
Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends.

It’s friends that help Ringo through presumably by a mixture of support, cajoling and abuse!

I particularly like the fact it’s Ringo singing. Not the genius Lennon. Not the handsome Harrison. Not the front man McCartney. No it’s Ringo the man behind the drums who they tease about his singing, but hey he gets through it and delivers a cracking song anyway.  And he needed all the others to get through.

Well done Ringo.

(And yes it has occurred to me that like most Beatles songs this may have several other interpretations but I’m just going for the straightforward friends angle this time!!)

