Day 8 – A song that you know all the words to: Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen

Bohemian Rhapsody clearly isn’t the only song to which I know all the words.  But setting aside Mahna Mahna by the Muppets and Ernie (the fastest milkman in the west), Queen’s epic piece must be an all time favourite for any sing-along.  And I have a feeling that I won’t be on my own I’m sure.

One tradition that every family should inherit from the Goscinny classic Asterix in Switzerland is that of forfeits for dropping your food at an orgy.  Admittedly, an obscure tradition but one that is very relevant.  I’ve always maintained that performing a solo rendition of Bohemian Rhapsody should be a forfeit for all seasons.  It should cover most events – suitably challenging and everyone will know the words eventually.  Obviously,  you can substitute orgy for cheese fondue, chocolate fondue, mexican dips and takeaway curries.

And my favourite bit to sing?

I’m just a poor boy, I need no sympathy
Because I’m easy come, easy go
Little high, little low
Any way the wind blows, doesn’t really matter to me, to me

Of course…

And as we all know THAT video off by heart as well, here’s a rendition by Finnish street band Porkka Playboys in a VW Polo Coupe in the middle of a muddy field.  Absolutely brilliant, especially the accordion solos.

What songs do you know all the words to?

<>

Read about the 30 day song challenge here.

