no81bob top 20 2011: No 5 Everything is everything – Lauryn Hill

So here goes, I thought.  And I’ve been generally blown away by the experience of the album.  Forget any R&B label this is a wonderful mixture of genres from gospel to soul to reggae.  The sound is modern (well, late 90s) but also full of all those great musical heritages.  But it’s the lyrics that really grabbed me.  Like all great artistes, Lauryn has angst with a capital A.  She has ‘issues’ and it makes for the best music.  In the Ex Factor she lets us know how it really is, not as empty words but heartfelt emotion.

“It could all be so simple
But you’d rather make it hard
Loving you is like a battle
And we both end up with scars”

I guess her ex will know how she feels.  Actually, I think he does – it’s widely felt that the personal stuff is derived from her relationship with other members of the Fugees.  After a failed attempt at a band reunion in 2005 one of them told the press  ”Before I work with Lauryn Hill again, you will have a better chance of seeing Osama Bin Laden and George W Bush in Starbucks having a latte, discussing foreign policies.”   Well, as we can rule the Starbucks reunion out now I guess that ends any hopes of a Fugees reunion too.  Anyway, they know where they stand…

… the most amazing video Everything is Everything.  Watch as a whole city becomes a turntable, complete with scratch effects – I love the sound and feel of this song, so it’s probably my favourite:

<>

<>

In our world of revolution: “After winter, must come spring.  Change, it comes eventually.”  How apt this week.

More at Living with…Lauryn Hill…for a week

