no81bob top 20 2011: No 6 Unfinished Sympathy – Massive Attack

How could I not love Unfinished Sympathy?  The song is sublime and I suggest anyone reading this pauses their life for 5 minutes 21 seconds and discovers this album’s finest moment.

<>

<>

I hope you paused – that was five minutes of our lives well spent.

As the week progresses the songs drift over you.  It is a very whole album, each song (with the exception of One Love, that second track with overtones of P***** which didn’t grow on me!) fitting the overall mood.  And yet, at the end of the week I feel largely indifferent about Massive Attack. Unfinished Sympathy is brilliant, probably my favourite discovery of the last month but I clearly haven’t latched on to the rest.

More at Living with…Massive Attack…for a week

