Living with…Prince…for a week

“Dearly beloved
We are gathered here today
2 get through this thing called life

Electric word life
It means forever and that’s a mighty long time”

It’s the 80s and only Prince (or the artist formerly known as…) could introduce himself with the words Dearly Beloved. Going for an autumn 80s, why go for him next?  Well, he’s a bit of an enigma to me.  He exploded on to my airwaves as some sort of purple booted musketeer in the mid 80s with Purple Rain – I was listening to a lot of radio then and suddenly there was a black artist doing rock.  And dance.  And some other weird stuff.  He seemed to have an ego that belied his stature.  When Doves Cry became the anthem of that year.

But how much do I know about him? Well..I know that When Doves Cry isn’t about doves. And Little Red Corvette isn’t about a car? And Purple Rain probably isn’t about rain?

So I’m going to share this week with Prince and his album Purple Rain…

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday…

Prince and I parted company on the grounds of incompatability, which is ironic given how in tune with everyone he seems to be on his album.

He left a partially completed dating agency form on our kitchen table…

Name: Unsure – Prince or

Age: If I’m not telling you my name…

Gender: I’m not a woman I’m not a man I am something that you’ll never understand

Favourite color: Purple of course

How would you describe yourself: I’m not a human I am a dove

Hobbies: Hanging around hotel lobbies watching girls; taking baths

Likes: Having my tummy tickled

Chat-up lines: Come on and touch the place in me That’s calling out your name

Which says it all.  I returned to his Bobness for the rest of the week.

 

For a better 80s experience visit me living with Talking Heads.

